You will have joy.

God has shown me some pretty amazing things while I’ve been away in Iowa. An important truth was communicated to me yesterday morning.

Yesterday I visited a local day-habilitation center for people with mental illness and special needs.(As I always do when I am back in Iowa) After I mingled around with these people, mind you these people have a mental health issue or/and a intellectual impairment. Beyond that many have been abused in more ways than I care to discuss, done plenty of drugs, and live in abject poverty. Yesterday morning after I hugged some old faces and met some new ones we had a time of worship & prayer.

The worship music started via CD player. After two minutes you could hear the not so soft sound of all the people singing praises to God. What struck me more was the woman sitting across the room. She was both physically and mentally disabled yet she was literally dancing (as best she could).

So many emotions, thoughts, and questions arose. Two pieces in particular stand out: Do I authentically worship God? (David danced naked before The Lord) More importantly a beautiful truth that everyone should know:

It does not matter who you are, what you’ve done, what you look like, how much money you have, or where you’ve been. God will bring you joy, and you will praise Him, even if you cannot speak. Just like he has brought that woman across the room joy.

Grace & Peace,
Brett

Leave a comment